Association of the Managements of Un-aided Engineering Colleges, Maharashtra

State Level Association- Engineering

1. Establishment:

Association of the Managements of Un-aided Engineering Colleges, Maharashtra was established in May 2003 and registered under Societies Registration Act (Reg. No.: MH/8081/03 dated 27-05-2003.) and Bombay Public Trust Act 1950 (Reg No. : F/7869/Nashik dated 26/10/2003.) under the Chairmanship of Late Hon. Shri. Balasaheb D. Wagh. Until his death, he served as the association's chairman from the time it was founded.

The Association has been formed to consider, deliberate and formulate indicative guidelines related to various aspects of quality education in Engineering / Technology fields and to make recommendations regarding matters related to Engineering Education to appropriate authorities and bodies. The Association has always focused on the interest of society at large and students in particular. The Association in the past took up common issues with the State and Central Governments, Universities and Regulatory bodies such as the All India Council for Technical Education. The Association is committed to continue its efforts for improvement in the field of Engineering Education.

2. Organizational Structure:

Currently around 250 unaided engineering institutes in the State of Maharashtra are members of this Association. There are eight regional committees headed by the regional Chairman and Secretary. There is a Central Executive Committee comprising of the President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and other elected members. Regional Chairman is also a member of the Executive Committee. Regular meetings of the Executive Committee as well as General Body meetings are conducted in online and offline mode from time to time.

During these meetings, problems faced by member institutes are discussed and guidance is also provided for filling of FRA format and other formats prepared by the regulating authorities.

3. Important Activities and Initiatives:

  • The Common Entrance Test for admission to Undergraduate Engineering Courses in the State of Maharashtra was successfully held across the country under the leadership of Late Shri. Balasaheb Wagh, Late Prof. R. P. Joshi, and Late Prof. P. N. Kulkarni in 2006. More than 50,000 candidates appeared for the exam and the results were declared in a transparent manner.
  • Various suggestions regarding admission eligibility norms and the conduction of the admission process for various engineering courses have been given to DTE and Admission Regulating Authority (ARA) from time to time.
  • Changes in the Approval Process Handbook (APH) are carried out by the All India Council for Technical Education from time to time. The leadership of the Association is instrumental in providing constructive suggestions in the finalization of the APH.
  • Late Balasaheb Wagh was at the forefront to change the eligibility norms for first- year undergraduate engineering courses and bring them at par with those specified by the AICTE. As a result of his untiring efforts, the Government of Maharashtra has changed the eligibility norms from AY 2020-21.
  • Balasaheb was instrumental in successfully pleading the case of No Fee Reimbursement (NFR) for the reserved category students of Second Shift undergraduate engineering in Hon. Supreme Court of India. Due to his efforts, the government decision was implemented for the benefit of thousands of students.
  • He had pleaded the issues of the member institutions on various aspects such as usage charges, equalization factor, development fees and various related issues with the Fee Regulatory Authority (FRA). Most of the suggestions given by the Association were implemented by FRA while preparing the norms for fixing the fees.
  • Various Quality Improvement initiatives have been initiated for the member institutions. This includes support in the form of funding for arranging awareness workshops on NBA and NAAC. Expert lectures and talks of eminent personalities such as Dr. Madhavrao Chitale (Winner of the Stockholm Water Prize).

4. Contribution to policy implementation:

  • Maharashtra Government had formed three committees under the chairmanship of educational experts - Dr. Anil Kakodkar, Dr. Arun Nigavekar and Dr. Ram Takwale.

Hon. Shri. Balasaheb Thorat

Hon. Dr. Anil Sahasrabudhe

Hon. Shri.Vinod Tawade

Hon. Shri.Vinod Tawade

Guidance session for FRA

Hon. Dr. V. G. Gaikar

Hon. Dr. N. B. Pasalkar

Hon. Shri. Rajesh Tope

Hon. Shri. Rajesh Tope

Hon. Dr. Anil Sahasra budhe

Hon. Dr. Raju Mankar

Hon. Prof. Rao

Guidance session for FRA

General Body Meeting of Association

  • The committee headed by Dr. Arun Nigvekar was set up for providing a basic framework for managing the academic, financial and administrative operations of ten public universities in the state of Maharashtra in an open, transparent and flexible manner. To promote autonomy and improve governance in higher education in Maharashtra on a long-term basis, a committee headed by Dr. Anil Kakodkar was appointed. Dr Takwale committee presented its recommendations for the division of the big state universities for their effective functioning. Discussion on these reports was arranged in the presence of Dr. Nigvekar, Dr. Anil Kakodkar and Dr. Takawale for the benefit of member institutes.
  • Maharashtra State Government was contemplating the idea of setting up Technological Universities for all engineering institutes in the State. In order to facilitate the decision, a meeting of all member institutes was held in the presence of Vice Chancellors like Prof. Prem Vrat of various Technological Universities in the country. Based on the discussion in this meeting, a detailed report was submitted to the State Government for establishment of Technological University in the State.
  • National Education Policy 2020 has been adopted by the Central Government. They have invited suggestions from the stakeholders for the proper implementation of the policy. In view of submitting such suggestions, a Panel Discussion was arranged by the Association. Chancellors, Vice-Chancellors and Directors of various Universities in the State of Maharashtra participated in the discussion. Various methods for implementation of the NEP 2020 were suggested during the discussion.

5. Presence of Dignitaries:

A large number of dignitaries were present for the events organized by the Association on various occasions. Some of the dignitaries include:

  • Hon. Shri. Prithviraj Chavan (Ex CM, Maharashtra)
  • Hon. Shri. Balasaheb Thorat (Then Minister, Revenue and Agriculture,Maharashtra)
  • Hon. Shri. Rajesh Tope (Then Minister, Higher and Technical Education,Maharashtra)
  • Hon. Shri. Vinod Tawade (Ex Education Minister, Maharashtra)
  • Hon. Dr. Anil Sahasrabudhe (Chairman, AICTE)
  • Hon. Dr. Abhay Wagh (Director, DTE, Maharashtra)
  • Hon. Dr. Pratapsinh Kakaso Desai (Chairman, ISTE)
  • Hon. N. B. Pasalkar (Ex Director, DTE Maharashtra)
  • Hon. Dr. V. G. Gaikar (Ex VC, BATU, Lonere)
  • Hon. Dr. Raju Mankar (Ex VC, BATU, Lonere)
  • Hon. Shri. Sandip Kadam (IAS) Commissioner State CET Cell, Maharashtra